Keeping of

The name Likasta was given in the middle of the nineteenth century by the English botanist D. Lindley, who devoted his life to the study of Orchid plants. Orchid flowers Likasta is most often waxy, the petals are located close to each other, tightly covering the column. These plants are cold-loving, which must be taken into account during cultivation.

Rod Likasta (Lycaste lindl) constitute about 45 species of epiphytic, lithophytic and land plants from Mexico, Central America, West Indies and South America (more than 1200 m above sea level). Some species and cultivars shed their leaves for the winter and lose their roots, experiencing an unfavorable season in the form of leafless pseudobulb with live roots.

Care when growing licasts (with video)

With proper care, lykasti grow well on window sills without a room greenhouse, but even better - on warmed loggias and balconies, where there is more light. They need a cool growing mode, a period of relative dormancy in winter and a nutrient, aerated substrate, and grow well on substrates intended for ordinary houseplants. High drainage is required at the bottom of the pot (1 / 4 — 1 / 3).

When caring for lykasta orchids in winter, it is necessary to ensure minimum illumination in 8000 — 10000 lux.

The temperature in summer is 14 — 16 ° С (at night not lower than 12 ° С), in winter 6 — 10 ° С (at night 4 — 6 ° С). In the spring, during active growth, need abundant watering. Substrate in the pot must be soaked thoroughly. In the fall (September — October) plants are kept in a moderately humid state. In winter, during the period of relative rest, the plants contain much drier and cooler, avoiding, however, strong wrinkling of the pseudobulb.

When caring at home, lykasta are transplanted once a year in 2 — 4 of the year into more spacious pots than in the previous ones. Plants are carefully removed from old pots, remove rotten and dead parts. Then, the living roots are straightened inside the new pot, placing the rear pseudobulbs close to its edge, in order to leave room for the 2 — 3 successive shoots of future growths. Plant a plant needs to be tight, so that it does not sway and as it were, "crawled" on the substrate. The buds of renewal, located at the base of the pseudobulb, must remain at the level of the substrate.

Details on the proper care for lykastami described in this video:

Popular types of orchids

The most popular types of orchids like Likast are Fragrant and Skinner.

Lycaste aromatica Lindl. - Lykasta is fragrant.

It is found in the mountain forests of Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras, where it grows like an epiphyte or lithophyte, annually shedding leaves during the winter dormancy period. Transversal length up to 10 cm, ovate, slightly compressed laterally, folded leaves, elongated with a pointed tip, given to 50 see. Inflorescences are single-flowered, length 15 — 17 see.

As seen in the photo, the flowers of this lykasta are bright yellow, very fragrant, the diameter of the lateral sepals 6 — 8 cm:

The three-lobed lip is orange-yellow, with lateral lobes covered with small orange specks. Front lip lobe oblong, obtuse at the end, curved back, the same color as the petals. It blooms from March to June.

Lycaste skinneri (Batem. Ex Lindl.) Lindl. - Likasta Skinner.

Motherland - Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras, El Salvador. Occurs in the mountains at altitudes up to 2000 m asl. The white shape of this species is the national symbol of Guatemala. As a species endangered in the wild, Lycaste skinneri is listed on CITES First List.

This is a small plant with two-, three-leaf pseudobulbs of length 6 — 10, see. Inflorescences are lateral, single-flowered. Flowers with a diameter of 15 cm, can be painted in different shades of pink - from bright crimson to almost white.

Look at the photo - these orchids have a three-lobed lip of lykast, darker pink or crimson-carmine color, spotted:

The lateral lobes of the lips are rounded, elongated, erect. The anterior lobe is reed and hairy. It blooms in late autumn and early winter, the maximum bloom occurs in January — April. The flowering period of each plant is quite long - more than a month.

growing experience at home ...читать

Содержание

Название роду Ликаста было дано в середине ХIХ века английским ботаником Д. Линдли, посвятившим свою жизнь изучению растений семейства Орхидные. Цветки орхидей ликаста чаще всего восковидные, лепестки расположены близко друг к другу, плотно прикрывая колонку. Эти растения относятся к холодолюбивым, что обязательно нужно учитывать при культивировании.

Род Ликаста (Lycaste Lindl) составляют около 45 видов эпифитных, литофитных и наземных растений из Мексики, Центральной Америки, Вест-Индии и Южной Америки (более 1200 м над уровнем моря). Часть видов и культиваров на зиму сбрасывают листья и теряют корни, переживая неблагоприятный сезон в виде безлистных псевдобульб с живыми корнями.

Уход при выращивании ликаст (с видео)

При грамотном уходе ликасты хорошо растут на подоконниках без комнатной теплички, но еще лучше — на утепленных лоджиях и балконах, где больше света. Нуждаются в прохладном режиме выращивания, периоде относительного покоя в зимнее время и питательном, аэрируемом субстрате, причем хорошо растут на субстратах, предназначенных для обычных комнатных растений. На дне горшка необходим высокий дренаж (1 /4—1 /3 горшка).

При уходе за орхидеями ликаста зимой нужно обеспечить минимальную освещенность в 8000—10000 лк.

Температура летом 14—16 °С (ночью не ниже 12 °С), зимой 6—10 °С (ночью 4—6 °С). Весной, во время активного роста, нуждаются в обильном поливе. Субстрат в горшке нужно промачивать основательно. Осенью (сентябрь—октябрь) растения содержат в умеренно влажном состоянии. Зимой, во время периода относительного покоя, растения содержат намного суше и прохладнее, не допуская, однако, сильного сморщивания псевдобульб.

При уходе в домашних условиях ликасты пересаживают раз в 2—4 года в более просторные, по сравнению с предыдущими, горшки. Растения аккуратно вынимают из старых горшков, удаляют загнившие и отмершие части. Затем живые корни расправляют внутри нового горшка, располагая задние псевдобульбы вплотную к его краю, чтобы оставить место для 2—3 последовательных побегов будущих приростов. Сажать растение нужно плотно, чтобы оно не качалось и как бы «ползло» по субстрату. Почки возобновления, расположенные в основании псевдобульб, должны оставаться на уровне субстрата.

Подробно о правильном уходе за ликастами рассказывается в этом видео:

Популярные виды орхидей ликаст

К популярным видам орхидей ликаст относятся ароматная и Скиннера.

   

Lycaste aromatica Lindl. — ликаста ароматная.

Встречается в горных лесах Мексики, Гватемалы и Гондураса, где растет как эпифит или литофит, ежегодно сбрасывая листья во время зимнего периода покоя. Превдобульбы длиной до 10 см, яйцевидные, немного сжатые с боков, Листья складчатые, вытянутые с заостренным кончиком, дайной до 50 см. Соцветия одноцветковые, длиной 15—17 см.

Как видно на фото, цветки у этой ликасты ярко-желтые, очень ароматные, диаметр по боковым чашелистикам 6—8 см:

   

Трехлопастная губа оранжево-желтая, с боковыми лопастями, покрытыми мелкими оранжевыми пятнышками. Передняя лопасть губы продолговатая, притупленная на конце, изогнута назад, такого же цвета, как и лепестки. Цветет с марта по июнь.

   

Lycaste skinneri (Batem. ex Lindl.) Lindl. — ликаста Скиннера.

Родина — Гватемала, Мексика, Гондурас, Эль-Сальвадор. Встречается в горах на высоте до 2000 м над у.м. Белая форма этого вида является национальным символом Гватемалы. Как вид, находящийся под угрозой исчезновения в дикой природе, Lycaste skinneri включена в Первый список CITES.

Это небольшое растение с двух-, трехлистными псевдобульбами длиной 6—10 см. Соцветия боковые, одноцветковые. Цветки диаметром 15 см, могут быть окрашены в разные оттенки розового цвета — от ярко-малинового до почти белого.

Посмотрите на фото – у этих орхидей ликаст губа трехлопастная, более темного розового или малиново-карминного цвета, пятнистая:

   

Боковые лопасти губы округлые, вытянутые, прямостоячие. Передняя лопасть язычковидная, волосистая. Цветет поздней осенью и в начале зимы, максимум цветения приходится на январь—апрель. Период цветения каждого растения довольно продолжителен — более месяца.

опыт выращивания в домашних условиях...читать